1	ENGROSSED SENATE CONCURRENT
2	RESOLUTION NO. 21 By: Hicks and Boren of the Senate
3	and
4	O'Donnell, Waldron, and
5	McBride of the House
6	
7	
8	A Concurrent Resolution commemorating the celebration of St. Patrick's Day; celebrating the 100th
9	anniversary of the Irish Senate; and directing distribution.
10	
11	
12	
13	WHEREAS, on March 17th, during the annual celebration of the
14	Feast of Saint Patrick, the Patron Saint of Ireland, Irish Americans
15	join with men, women, and children of all other ethnic origins who,
16	for one day, become Irish and celebrate Patrick and love of Ireland;
17	and
18	WHEREAS, on Saint Patrick's Day, all who wear the green live for
19	a day in the spirit of Saints Patrick, Bridget, and Colmcille, whose
20	1500th anniversary was this past year; and
21	WHEREAS, Irish immigrants to the United States helped form the
22	cultural foundation of the nation, and those of Irish lineage today
23	proudly sing support for Ireland; and
24	

ENGR. S. C. R. NO. 21

Page 1

WHEREAS, the Oklahoma Legislature celebrates the establishment of the American Irish State Legislators Caucus with leadership in all 50 states aiming to foster and strengthen the longstanding relationship that exists between the United States of America and Ireland to the mutual benefit of both countries; and

6 WHEREAS, the songs of Ireland are the tragic songs of love and 7 the joyous songs of battle, the nostalgic reveries of the sorrows 8 and the glories that are the Emerald Isle, and the lamentations of 9 life's myriad travails and the odes to joy and the life eternal. 10 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE 2ND SESSION

11 OF THE 58TH OKLAHOMA LEGISLATURE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 12 CONCURRING THEREIN:

13 THAT the Oklahoma State Legislature commemorates the 14 celebrations of the Feast of Saint Patrick, the Patron Saint of 15 Ireland.

16 THAT the Oklahoma State Legislature celebrates the 100th 17 anniversary of the Irish Senate.

18 THAT a copy of this resolution be distributed to Sen. Mark Daly, 19 Chair of the Senate of Ireland, and the National Co-Chairs of the 20 American Irish State Legislators Caucus, Speaker Robin Vos of 21 Wisconsin, Assemblywoman Carol Murphy of New Jersey, Rep. Killian 22 Timoney of Kentucky, Rep. Fran Hurley of Illinois, Sen. Shannon 23 O'Brien of Montana, and Sen. Mia Costello of Alaska.

24

ENGR. S. C. R. NO. 21

Page 2

1	Adopted by the Senate the 14th day of March, 2022.
2	
3	Duraiding Officer of the Consta
4	Presiding Officer of the Senate
5	Adopted by the House of Representatives the day of,
6	2022.
7	
8	Presiding Officer of the House
9	of Representatives
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	